• Brent Zinkel, Social Studies teacher at Wausau East High School, is a 2017 Kohl Fellowship recipient. 

  • Olivia Rasmussen, a senior at Wausau East High School, received the 2017 DECA Emerging Leader Honor Award.

  • Wausau West High School was recognized by the Wisconsin Advanced Placement Advisory Council (WAPAC) as a Level 3 Pacesetter School in Advanced Placement during the 2015-2016 school year.

  • Wausau West and Wausau East school stores recognized by National DECA for Outstanding School-Based Enterprises. West High's, West Side Connection, achieved Gold Level Re-certification and East High's, The Jack Shack, achieved Gold Level Certification for the first time in the school's history.

  • Dr. Jeff Lindell, Director of Pupil Services, received the 2016 Advocate of the Year Award from the United Way of Marathon County. 

  • Cathy Hirn, long-serving ticket manager of West High athletic events, received the Wisconsin Athletic Directors Association Distinguished Service Award. 

  • Mike Erickson, Head Custodian at Horace Mann Middle School, was presented with the Wisconsin Athletic Directors Service Award by Lisa Peck, Horace Mann Activities and Athletic Director.

  • John Heiting, Head Custodian at John Muir Middle School, was presented with the Wisconsin Athletic Directors Service Award by Randy Erdman, John Muir Activities and Athletic Director.

  • Wausau East's Thomas Dunbar received the Win Brockmeyer Award for being the most outstanding senior football player in the greater Wausau area.  

  • Patricia (Patty) Zemke, John Muir Middle School teacher, received the Board Resolution of Commendation for being named Health Education Teacher of the Year by the Wisconsin Health and Physical Education Association. 

  • Wausau East High School librarian Paula Hase wins $100,000 from Farmers Insurance through Thank America's Teachers Dream Big Challenge to fund the proposal, "Plugged In, Engaged, and Informed: Ownership of Learning through Video Production and Journalism." The school's broadcasting studio will be upgraded to a state-of-the-art 21st Century digital broadcasting space. East High was one of six winners in the nation to receive $100,000.

  • Patricia (Patty) Zemke, John Muir Middle School teacher, named Health Education Teacher of the Year by the Wisconsin Health and Physical Education Association.  

  • Christine Kadonsky, Wausau West Social Studies teacher, is a 20 Under Forty honoree; a partnership between the Wausau Daily Herald and United Way of Marathon County that recognizes community leaders.

  • Grant Elementary School received the Let’s Move! Active Schools National Award for its outstanding efforts in creating an active school environment. Let's Move! Active Schools is part of First Lady Michelle Obama's Let's Move! initiative. Only 544 schools across the country achieved this prestigious honor this year.

  • Custodians Andy Seidler, Kevin Davisson, and Chris Raboin tied for first place in the Wisconsin Association of School Business Officials Safety Room Challenge at the association’s Custodial & Maintenance Conference.

  • Christine Kadonsky​,​ Wausau West ​S​ocial ​S​tudies teacher​,​ participated in the National Endowment for the Humanities "The Legacy of the Civil War: Changing Memories Over Time" workshop at Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond. ​S​he ​also ​studied "Martha Washington and the Women of the 18th Century" at Mount Vernon, home of George ​and Martha ​Washington. Kadonsky received a scholarship provided by Anne Neal Petri and Thomas E. Petri to attend th​e​ George Washington Teacher Institute Summer Residential Program.
    Kadonsky also participated in two sessions, Standard Setting and Exam Item Review​,​ for the new Tenth Grade Social Studies Forward Exam ​facilitated by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction​.​

  • Lincoln Elementary School won 1st place in the video of the year contest at the 2016 State PBIS Leadership Conference! This amazing "True Colors" anti-bullying video was created by Lincoln's students and staff as part of their Safe School Ambassadors family group project.